Columbia River Gorge Commission

The Columbia River Gorge Commission was established in 1987 through a bi-state compact approved by Congress in the creation of the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area (NSA).   The National Scenic Area encompasses over 295,000 acres in Oregon and Washington along the Columbia River.  The Commission is comprised of 13 members appointed by the Governors of Washington and Oregon, the six Columbia River Gorge counties, and the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture. The Commission develops and implements policies and programs that protect and enhance the scenic, natural, cultural and recreational resources of the NSA, while encouraging economic growth to occur within existing urban areas and allowing development outside urban areas consistent with resource protection.  The Executive Director is hired and supervised by the Commission, and manages all Commission staff, volunteers, and contractors.